top of page

Attitude of Gratitude


I'm writing this on the day before Thanksgiving 2020. This is been the craziest, most chaotic and stressful year of my life. Yet, it's been one of the best years of my life. Why? Because of an attitude of gratitude. The Lord has taught me to look at what He's doing, not the circumstances around me. In this short message, I'd like to share a quote, a few scriptures, and an idea that could change your life, so read on.


"Gratitude turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos into order, confusion into clarity. It makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow." - Melody Beattie


I love this quote and it's so true. When we have an attitude of gratitude, it changes the way we look at things around us. Suddenly we are looking at all the blessings, instead of what we don't have or have lost. What seems to be chaotic falls into order. Confusion clears away and things become clear. Plus, we get peace for today.


1 Thessalonians 5:18 (NLT) says, "Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus."


Wow, being grateful or thankful is God's will for those of us who are saved. The question is, are we doing that every day or are we getting sucked into the chaos of the world? Are we grateful or griping?


Ps 118:24 (NIV) reads, "The Lord has done it this very day; let us rejoice today and be glad."


This is something my wife and I say every morning. It's a quick reminder that no matter what is happening in our life, we are to rejoice and be glad in it.


Last is Ps 103:2-5 (NIV), "Praise the Lord, my soul, and forget not all his benefits— who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desires with good things

so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s."


Let's make a habit of being grateful for all God has done for us. This is a habit that the Lord has instilled in me over the last 20 or so years. Every morning my wife and I pray and give thanks to the Lord. We also give thanks again right before we go to sleep. We thank him for all the blessings - our home, hot and cold running water, food in the refrigerator and pantry, washer and dryer, dishwasher, cars that run well, technology to connect with people and do Bible studies, good health, gravity, oxygen, the sun and the Son. We have a lot of be thankful for, so let's be in God's will and thank Him EVERY day. It will change your life!

bottom of page